The Guide to South African Higher Education | 18th Edition

Nelson Mandela University

Change the World

Nelson Mandela University is the largest university in the Southern Cape with the main campus in the heart of a nature reserve in the city of Port Elizabeth and right next to the Indian Ocean.

Nelson Mandela University is a new generation university, with campuses in the Eastern and Southern Cape, that is doing things differently in striving to become a dynamic African university, recognised for its leadership in generating cutting-edge knowledge for a sustainable future.

The institution proudly and formally is the only university in the world to be named after the global icon, Nelson Mandela.

The Nelson Mandela University has been granted permission to establish the country’s 10th medical school and has also established the country’s only dedicated Ocean Sciences campus. These two new ventures are set to, among other things, place the University in a substantially better position to serve the country’s development and economic growth needs as it works to establish new areas of knowledge that in turn will stimulate new ways of resolving life challenges, and spawn new professions, careers and job opportunities.


Nelson Mandela University’s seven faculties include;

  • Arts
  • Business and Economic Sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering, the Built Environment and Information Technology
  • Health Sciences
  • Law
  • Science

Nelson Mandela University

For more information about our programmes ranging from diplomas through to doctorial degrees, visit:
or email:

Stay Connected

For any questions that you may have, please use the contact form below or contact us directly.

Connect with us on social media.

Copyright 2019 Study SA All Rights Reserved |Website by Design@Bay