The Guide to South African Higher Education | 18th Edition

North-West University

It All Starts Here

“It all starts here” is the North-West University’s (NWU) pay-off line. The NWU was established on 1 January 2004 through the merger of two universities with very different histories, personalities and cultures: the Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education and the University of the North-West. The staff and students of the Sebokeng Campus of Vista University were also incorporated, adding further to the richness of our heritage.

The University continues to celebrate and encourage multiculturalism, multilingualism and multinationalism.

Today, the NWU is recognised as one of the best-managed and most innovative universities in South Africa.


NWU has eight faculties;

  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Natural and Agricultural Sciences
  • Theology

North-West University

Potchefstroom Campus
11 Hofman Street

Tel: (+2718) 299 111
Fax: (+2718) 299 2767

Stay Connected

For any questions that you may have, please use the contact form below or contact us directly.

Connect with us on social media.

Copyright 2019 Study SA All Rights Reserved |Website by Design@Bay