The Guide to South African Higher Education | 18th Edition

University of Mpumalanga

Creating Opportunities

Established in 2013, the University of Mpumalanga (UMP) is one of the youngest universities in South Africa.

An African university committed to providing Leadership in Knowledge Creation and Dissemination.

"The Place Where the Sun Rises"

Mpumalanga – “the place where the sun rises” – is a province with spectacular scenic beauty and an abundance of wildlife. Lying in the northeast of South Africa, Mpumalanga is bordered by the countries of Mozambique and Swaziland to the east and Gauteng to the west.

The University of Mpumalanga is the only university in the Mpumalanga Province. The province lies in the northeast of South Africa, bordered by Mozambique and Swaziland to the east and Gauteng to the west. UMP aspires to be an academic destination of choice for qualifying school leavers from across the province, South Africa and the continent. UMP, has two campuses, the Mbombela Campus as the main campus, the Siyabuswa Campus, and two sites of delivery in Marapyane and the Mpumalanga Regional Training Trust (MRTT).

Programmes and Qualifications

The current academic structure at UMP provides for at least three Faculties. These include the following;

  • Commerce and Management,
  • Agriculture and Natural Sciences,
  • Education

University of Mpumalanga

Mbombela Campus (Main Campus)
Cnr R40 and D725 Roads, Mbombela,
South Africa, 1200
Tel: +27 (0)13 – 002 0001

Siyabuswa Campus
Bhekimfundo Drive, Siyabuswa,
South Africa, 0472
Tel: +27 (0)13 – 002 0800

General enquiries (Switchboard)
Tel: +27 (0)13 – 002 0001

Stay Connected

For any questions that you may have, please use the contact form below or contact us directly.

Connect with us on social media.

Copyright 2019 Study SA All Rights Reserved |Website by Design@Bay