The Guide to South African Higher Education | 18th Edition

Sefako Makgatho Health Science University

Knowledge for Quality Health Services’

Sefako Makgatho Health Science University (SMU) was established as a new university with the purpose of teaching, research and community engagement. Located in Ga-Rankuwa at the then Medunsa Campus of the University of Limpopo, at the campus previously known as the Medical University of Southern Africa (MEDUNSA).

The University opened its doors in January 2015, with the vision of —Knowledge for Quality Health Services.


SMU Schools include;

  • Health Care Sciences
  • Medicine
  • Oral Health Sciences
  • Pharmacy
  • Science and Technology

Sefako Makgatho Health Science University

Molotlegi Street
Ga-Rankuwa, Pretoria, Gauteng

Switchboard: (012) 521-4111
Fax: (012) 560-0086

Stay Connected

For any questions that you may have, please use the contact form below or contact us directly.

Connect with us on social media.

Copyright 2019 Study SA All Rights Reserved |Website by Design@Bay