The Guide to South African Higher Education | 18th Edition

Stellenbosch University

Rooted in Africa and Global in Reach

Stellenbosch University (SU) is a leading research-intensive university on the African continent, globally recognised as excellent, inclusive and innovative, and where knowledge is advanced, in service of society.

According to the Times Higher Education World University Rankings, SU is one of the top 300 universities in the world, and among the top 20 in BRICS countries.

Location and Campuses

SU has five Campuses: Stellenbosch, Tygerberg, Bellville, Saldanha and Worcester.


SU has 10 faculties;

  • Agri-Sciences
  • Arts and Social Sciences
  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Law
  • Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Military Science
  • Science
  • Theology

SU is a research-intensive university with 432 National Research Foundation (NRF)-rated researchers, 14 of them A-rated researchers, 44 research chairs, 7 Research Centres of Excellence.

Stellenbosch University

Victoria Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa. Private Bag X1, Matieland 7602.

Telephone: +27 (0)21 808 9111
+27 (0)21 808 2565



Stay Connected

For any questions that you may have, please use the contact form below or contact us directly.

Connect with us on social media.

Copyright 2019 Study SA All Rights Reserved |Website by Design@Bay