The Guide to South African Higher Education | 18th Edition

Tshwane University of Technology

A Leader in Africa

The Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) is a proud product of South Africa’s first decade of democracy. While the size and scope of this dynamic new institution impress, the quality of its teaching, research and community engagement is what makes the university stand out.

TUT is truly an institution in service of the Southern African community. One of its key focuses is, therefore, the economic and social development of the Southern African region.

TUT’s geographic footprint covers four of South Africa’s nine provinces – Gauteng, Mpumalanga, Limpopo and the North-West – with campuses located in Tshwane, Nelspruit, eMalahleni and Polokwane. Large numbers of students are also drawn from other provinces, as well as from neighbouring countries such as Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia and Swaziland.


In its quest to promote knowledge and technology, it provides the market with a career-focused workforce.


Academically, TUT is divided into seven faculties:

  • Arts
  • Economics and Finance
  • Engineering and the Built Environment
  • Humanities
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Management Sciences
  • Science

Tshwane University of Technology

Pretoria Campus

Private Bag X680, Pretoria, 0001
South Africa

Tel: +27 (0)12 382 5911


Stay Connected

For any questions that you may have, please use the contact form below or contact us directly.

Connect with us on social media.

Copyright 2019 Study SA All Rights Reserved |Website by Design@Bay